‘Home of Chicken and Waffles’ Soul Food At Its Best

CBS San Francisco

OAKLAND (CBS SF) – Food not only nourishes the body, but feeds the soul and soul food/comfort food certainly does both. My kids and I dined at Home of Chicken and Waffles (HCW) in Jack London Square and immediately I thought of Roscoe’s. After speaking to the owner, Derrick Johnson, I learned that his father was the owner of Roscoe’s House of Chicken and Waffles based in Los Angeles.

Yes HCW is a restaurant and has comfort food with a full bar, but is also a down home mainstay since 2004 and part of the revitalization of downtown Oakland. I had “Angie’s Delight” 1 succulent breast 1 delicious waffle and grits. My son had a waffle and a hot chocolate, He is 11 and a connoisseur of both and was extremely pleased. My teenaged daughter ordered off menu and had a waffle and two pieces of chicken and let’s just…

View original post 316 more words

Leave a Reply

